Toward the end of their mandate, the British recognized the need to ensure continuation of the museumís activities in Rockefellerís spirit. The High Commissioner appointed a council of international trustees charged with administering the museum. A new regulation outlined the authority granted to the council, which would consist of twelve members: two on behalf of the High Commissioner, one from the British Academy, one from the British Museum, one from the French National Academy, one from the French Ministry of Foreign Affairs, two from the Antiquities Departments of the Egyptian, Syrian, Lebanese, Iraqi and Jordanian governments to be decided amongst them; one from the Hebrew University, one from the Royal Swedish Academy, one from the American Institute of Archaeology, and one from the American School of Oriental Research in Jerusalem.